Why I Want To Become An Editor…

screen-shot-2015-02-15-at-9-14-52-pm
Image Source: edenbaylee.com

When I first came across the idea of Publishing, without even giving it a second glance, I flatly rejected it. As a Literature Student whose strength is writing and analyzing content, I should have thought better than that. But, life is kind. Destiny is far more stubborn than your absent mindedness. Miracles happen all the time.

So, one day I was bored to death. Thus, I decided to look up employment options for a Literature Student (You see, ‘there is not much scope’ for us in the future!). And I came across Editing. Since that moment, I have been in love with that profession. Why? Here’s the logic behind it.

Book editors work on the content of the manuscript chosen by them. They read and re-read the manuscript multiple times. They correct grammatical errors, sentence structure and plot holes. Liaising with one or more authors at the same time to turn a manuscript into masterpiece is a major part of their job.

 

635903091752887442-1563412887_proofreading-copy
Image Source:theoddeseyonline.com

Content forms an integral part of Literature. When one creates a content, it is no longer a thought that is tucked away in one’s mind. It becomes a tool for change, big or small , positive or negative. An editor’s job is to turn a good content into a great one. A reader who begins reading a great content is never the same reader when he/she reaches the last word of it. Only when this happens, an editor can lay down at night and sleep peacefully (at least, that is the case with me!). While editors don’t create words, we make sure that the right words reach the world. And trust me, it is NOT  an easy task! But, I love it nonetheless.

One day, I will help an author to turn his/ her manuscript into a masterpiece that will leave its imprint in the mind of the readers even after it’s last word has been read. Being an Editor is a noble job in its own right. And who doesn’t want to do something noble?

 

4 thoughts on “Why I Want To Become An Editor…

Leave a comment